Red Noses for Red Nose Day!

I thought I’d post my pattern for the red noses. It’s very simple and you will all probably know this kind of pattern much better than I but I’ll post it anyway!

I got to this pattern just by looking at a few ball patterns and getting the idea. Once I’d knitted a couple I got the size I was looking for. They’re only a few centimetres (definitely no more than 5cm I’d say, maybe slightly bigger than a golf ball) but they’re a good size. Not too big, not too small.

I used 4mm Needles. This was because of my wool. It was just standard DK Wool in bright red.

Cast on 6.

Row 1: Knit

Row 2: Purl and increase every stitch. (By increase I didn’t Yarn Over, this will cause massive gaps as I quickly realised. My Mum taught me the purl front then knit into the back method which created 2 stitches. There’s some good youtube videos on this if you’re not sure)

You should have 12 stitches.

Row 3. Knit

Row 4. Purl

Row 5. Knit and increase every stitch. (Knit into front and back, again youtube have some good videos if, like me, you’d never done this before).

You should have 24 stitches.

Rows 1-9*. Beginning with Purl row, use Stocking Stitch (Or any stitch you’d prefer. This will make up the main middle of your nose) for around 9 rows

*I always did an odd number but always kept it around 9. 7 and 11 only changed the size ever so slightly.

Row 10. Knit2tog to the end of the row. (Decreasing)

You should have 12 stitches.

Row 11. Purl

Row 12. Knit

Row 13. Purl2tog to end of row. (Decreasing)

You should have 6 stitches.

Row 14. Knit

Then, Mum taught me this, instead of casting off, cut the yarn (leave a decent amount) and pass it through the last stitches/loops. Then pull it reasonably tight. This makes it easier to sew together.

Then sew up sides and bottom, leave an opening for the stuffing, stuff it, then complete sew up while leaving some yarn for a loop at the top to hang them up!

I also stuck some googley eyes on the noses with some good silicone glue. Most decent glues will work as long as they are OK for wool!

Ams xx

Leave a Reply

